A solar equipment warranty is the manufacturer's promise to repair or replace a defective panel, inverter or battery for a stated term, and it stays with the product when the installer that sold it goes out of business. A workmanship warranty is the installer's own promise about the installation, and it does not survive the installer.
System down, an inverter error, or the app showing nothing? Call the solar repair line and describe what you see.
Solar panel warranty after the company goes bankrupt
Two warranties cover a home solar system and they fail differently. The equipment warranty (Enphase 25 years on IQ8 microinverters, SolarEdge 12 years on inverters and 25 on optimizers, Tesla 10 years on Powerwall 3, most panels 25 years) is a contract with the manufacturer, and every manufacturer in the table below still honors it when the installer is gone, though several route the claim through an installer. The workmanship warranty (typically 10 to 25 years on the installer's labor, roof penetrations and wiring) is a promise by the installer, and in a bankruptcy it becomes an unsecured claim that rarely pays. The practical gap is labor: manufacturers ship the replacement part and leave you to pay someone to install it.
| Manufacturer | Term (years) | What it covers | Performance | Survives installer bankruptcy | Owner can claim | Contact |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Enphase IQ8 microinverters (US) | 25 | Limited product warranty; replacement unit. Labor reimbursement program for installers (effective 2026-02-01). | n/a (inverter) | Yesmanufacturer warranty attaches to the product; Enphase ships RMA replacements and runs Enphase Care ($399/yr) for homeowners without an acti | Yes | Warranty page +1 (888) 674-2730 (number on Enphase Care page) |
| Enphase IQ Battery 5P | 15 | Product defects; capacity guarantee | 60% capacity at 15 years or 6,000 cycles (SolarReviews); EnergySage cites 73.3% at year 10 | Yes | Yes | Warranty page +1 (888) 674-2730 |
| Enphase IQ Battery 10C | 15 | Product defects; capacity guarantee | 60% capacity retention at 15 years (EnergySage) | Yes | Yes | Warranty page +1 (888) 674-2730 |
| SolarEdge Residential inverters (HD-Wave, Home Hub, Home Wave) | 12 | Standard 12-year product warranty; extendable to 20 or 25 years if purchased within 24 months of shipment (from $120 to 20 yr / $192 to 25 y... | n/a | YesSolarEdge manages RMA and 'generally ships a replacement unit within 48 hours at no cost' when covered | Yes | Warranty page not published on warranty pages (contact form at marketing.solaredge.com/nam-contact-us) |
| SolarEdge Power optimizers | 25 | 25-year product warranty | n/a | Yes | Yes | Warranty page not published |
| SolarEdge Home Battery | None | UNVERIFIED - term not stated on fetched pages (industry listings cite 10 years) | not confirmed | Yes | Yes | Warranty page not published |
| Tesla Powerwall 3 | 10 | Defects for 10 years from installation; reimbursement of reasonable labor to a Certified Installer who performs the repair | 70% of 13.5 kWh at 10 years; unlimited cycles for solar self-consumption/time-based contro | Yes'contact Tesla directly if you cannot reach that installer'; subsequent owner with proof of ownership may claim | Yes | Warranty page +1 (877) 798-3752; [email protected] |
| Tesla Tesla solar panels (retrofit) | 25 | Modules free from defects in design and materials for 25 years from installation; excludes installer workmanship | 98% of rated power at year 1, then no more than 0.45%/yr decline for 24 years (about 87.2% | Yesany subsequent owner of the home with proof of ownership may claim | Yes | Warranty page +1 (877) 798-3752; [email protected] |
| SMA Sunny Boy residential inverters (US) | 10 | Standard factory warranty (10 years per SMA press materials); extensions sold for 1/5/10/15/20 years (20 only for SHP models); extended warr... | n/a | Yesmanufacturer warranty; SMA Service Line serves US/Canada/PR | Yes | Warranty page +1 877-697-6283 (877-MY-SMATech) |
| Generac PWRcell 2 (battery cabinet, modules, inverter, smart disconnect) | 10 | Parts, labor and limited travel for 10 years; battery modules 10 years or 7.56 MWh throughput per module; minimum 5 yr / 3.78 MWh if system ... | At least 70% of nameplate at end of term | Yestransferable at the original site; repairs must be performed by Generac-certified technicians (IASD/Certified Installer) | Yes | Warranty page (888) 436-3722 |
| Maxeon (SunPower panels) Maxeon-series modules (new, Maxeon-branded) | 40 | 40-year product warranty ('Maxeon: 40/40 Years'); Performance series 12/30 | Per warranty doc (Rev G effective 2026-05-01) | ConditionalMaxeon directs owners to their installer; limited legacy SunPower coverage only for panels installed before 2024-08-05 AND self-registered w | Through installer | Warranty page not published |
| REC Alpha series modules | 20 | Standard 20-year product warranty from end-user purchase (max 20.5 yr from production); +5 years via REC Certified Solar Professional instal... | 98% year 1, then <=0.25%/yr to at least 92% at year 25 | Yeswarranty transfers to subsequent owner of the unchanged installation; on-site labor NOT covered by base warranty; ProTrust labor coverage de | Yes | Warranty page +65 6495 9228 (REC HQ Singapore; no US number published) |
| Qcells Q.PEAK / Q.TRON residential modules (US) | 25 | '12 or 25 year product warranty and a 25 or 30 year linear performance warranty' depending on product; residential US lines marketed at 25 y... | 25 or 30 years linear; NuWatt lists Q.PEAK 435W at 86.0% year 25 | Yes | Through installer | Warranty page not published on fetched pages |
| Panasonic EverVolt / HIT panels and EverVolt batteries | 25 | Panasonic exited the solar panel AND battery storage business entirely in April 2025 (after ending its own panel manufacturing in 2022 and s... | 25-year (varies by product; historically 25/25 on EverVolt) | YesPanasonic says it will honor; manufacturer itself exited, so claims go to Panasonic support, not an installer | Yes | Warranty page not published |
| Silfab Residential modules (e.g., SIL-440-BHC) | 25 | 25-year extended product warranty (installer registration required; panels manufactured after 2018-01-01 eligible); 30-year linear power war... | 30 years linear; NuWatt lists 86.6% at year 25 | Yesextended coverage depends on installer having registered the panels | Through installer | Warranty page +1 833-998-6642 (sales support line, not claims) |
| Canadian Solar Residential rooftop modules (HiKu6/HiHero etc.) | 25 | 25-year product warranty for residential rooftop modules under contracts signed on/after 2021-07-01 (previously 12); linear performance warr... | Linear performance per regional Limited Warranty Statement (not read) | Yesmanufacturer warranty; CSI has historically carried third-party warranty insurance with bankruptcy rights (2012 release) | conditions - claims via csisolar.com/na | Warranty page not published |
| LG NeON panels (manufacturing ended mid-2022) | 25 | LG announced exit 2022-02-22, closed Huntsville AL plant mid-2022, kept inventory 'for future service support'; warranties (repair, replace,... | 25-year linear (model-specific) | YesLG honors; manufacturer exited the business but not bankrupt | Yes | Warranty page not confirmed |
| JinkoSolar US DG residential modules (Tiger Neo etc.) | 25 | 25 years (300 months) for G2/G4/G6 black-frame/black-backsheet modules; 12 years (144 months) for all other types | 25 or 30 years: e.g., G6 1.0% yr-1 then 0.40%/yr to 87.40% at year 30; G4 2.0% then 0.55%/ | Yesapplies to 'any end-user'; customer submits documentation to Jinko | Yes | Warranty page not published (email only) |
| Trina Solar Vertex S+ residential modules (US) | 25 | TrinaProtect: 25-year product and 25-year power warranty, automatic at purchase, US only, no registration required | 25-year power warranty (degradation not stated on page) | Yesmanufacturer warranty attaches automatically | Yes | Warranty page +1 800-696-7114 |
| LONGi Hi-MO distributed-generation modules | 12 | 12-year product warranty (DG market document); performance 25 or 30 years by model | A: 98% yr-1 then 0.55%/yr to 84.8% at 25; B: 98% then 0.45%/yr to 85.0% at 30; C: 99% then | Yesrights may pass to subsequent project owner per Section 6; claims go to Supplier or authorized distributor | conditions - claim to seller/distributor | Warranty page not published |
| FranklinWH aPower 2 (15 kWh) | 15 | 15-year limited warranty from installation; communications module up to 5 years; aGate X 12 years | No less than 70% of 15 kWh at 15 years or 60 MWh aggregate throughput, whichever first | Yes'if you cannot reach them, contact FranklinWH directly'; proof of ownership transfer accepted | Yes | Warranty page 1-888-851-3188; [email protected] |
Terms from each manufacturer's published US warranty document, dated in the sources list. Checked October 11, 2026. Labor is excluded unless stated.
Have a failed part and no installer? Call the repair line with the brand and model.
Who honors my solar warranty if the installer went out of business
The manufacturer honors the equipment warranty. Enphase replaces microinverters through its RMA process and will add you as system owner if you call (877) 797-4743. SolarEdge ships replacement inverters and points you to its installer directory for the swap. Tesla services Powerwall directly. Maxeon honors SunPower-branded panels installed before August 5, 2024 if the system was registered by December 31, 2024. Generac handles PWRcell and SnapRS components for former Pink Energy customers at 1-800-396-1281. Panasonic and LG have both left panel manufacturing and both say they continue to honor existing warranties.
Found your brand in the table and need the part swapped? Call the repair line with the model and serial number.
Workmanship warranty vs equipment warranty
| Equipment warranty | Workmanship warranty | |
|---|---|---|
| Who gives it | Manufacturer (Enphase, SolarEdge, Tesla, Qcells) | Installer |
| What it covers | Defects in the panel, inverter, optimizer or battery | Installation labor, racking, flashing, wiring, roof leaks caused by the install |
| Typical term | 10 to 25 years product; 25 years performance on panels | 5 to 25 years |
| Labor included | Usually not; some brands reimburse a certified installer | Yes |
| Survives installer bankruptcy | Yes | No; becomes a bankruptcy claim |
| How to claim with no installer | Call the manufacturer; register as owner | File a proof of claim by the bar date |
Summary of the two warranty types on a residential system.
How to make a warranty claim without an installer
- Find the brand and serial number on the inverter or in the monitoring app. For panels, the model is on the back label; a photo from a previous service visit or the permit drawings works.
- Register as the system owner with the manufacturer. Enphase and SolarEdge both transfer site ownership from a closed installer on request.
- Open the claim with the manufacturer and get the RMA number. The replacement part ships to you or to the contractor you name.
- Hire a licensed contractor to install it. Ask whether the manufacturer reimburses certified installers for labor; Enphase and REC run such programs.
- Keep the RMA paperwork, the invoice and before-and-after screenshots from the app. They are also what a lender asks for if you request relief.
Can I transfer a solar warranty when I sell the house
Equipment warranties transfer with the system in every manufacturer document in the table, usually automatically or with a notification to the manufacturer. Installer workmanship warranties sometimes require written transfer within 30 to 90 days of sale, and are worthless if the installer has closed. Buyers of homes with orphaned systems should check the buying a house with solar panels guide.
More solar guides
Questions people ask
Is my solar panel warranty still valid if the company went out of business?
The manufacturer's equipment warranty is. Panels, inverters and batteries are warranted by Enphase, SolarEdge, Tesla, Qcells and the other makers regardless of the installer. The installer's workmanship warranty is not.
Who honors a SunPower warranty now?
Maxeon honors SunPower-branded panel warranties for systems installed before August 5, 2024. Enphase and Fronius honor their inverters. SunPower Inc. (formerly Complete Solaria) only covers Blue Raven and Complete Solar installs.
Does Enphase cover labor on a warranty replacement?
Not by default. Enphase ships the replacement microinverter. Labor is covered only through Enphase Care, which costs $399 a year, or a certified installer's labor reimbursement.
How long is a SolarEdge inverter warranty?
12 years standard on residential inverters, extendable to 20 or 25 years for a fee, and 25 years on power optimizers. SolarEdge offers a $99 System Health Check for owners whose installer closed.
What is a solar workmanship warranty?
The installer's promise to fix problems caused by the installation itself: roof leaks at penetrations, loose racking, wiring faults. It typically runs 10 to 25 years and ends when the installer goes out of business.
What does the Tesla solar warranty cover?
Tesla's own systems carry Tesla's warranty, handled through the Tesla app or (877) 798-3752, option 4 then option 2. The warranty table lists the term and what it covers.
How do I file a solar panel or inverter warranty claim without an installer?
Contact the manufacturer directly with the serial number and the fault. Both ship replacement parts under warranty; you hire a licensed contractor for the labor unless you have a service plan.
Who honors Panasonic, Qcells and REC solar panel warranties?
The manufacturers themselves. Qcells offers 12 or 25 year product and 25 or 30 year performance warranties depending on the panel; REC Alpha panels carry 20 years of product coverage (25 through a certified installer) and at least 92% output at year 25; Panasonic left the solar business in April 2025 and said it will keep honoring existing warranties.
Found your brand in the table and the part is covered? Call the solar repair line to have it diagnosed and the claim filed.
- 1Call the line
- 2It rings a local company
- 3They give you the price
Before you book
- License numberAsk for it, then check it with the state board.
- Written priceGet the visit fee and the job price in writing before work starts.
- Proof of insuranceAsk for the certificate, especially for roof, tree and electrical work.
Sources (21)
- Enphase IQ8 microinverters (US) warranty (checked 2026-10-11)
- Enphase IQ Battery 5P warranty (checked 2026-10-11)
- Enphase IQ Battery 10C warranty (2025-06-26)
- SolarEdge Residential inverters (HD-Wave, Home Hub, Home Wave) warranty (checked 2026-10-11)
- Tesla Powerwall 3 warranty (2026-05-06)
- Tesla Tesla solar panels (retrofit) warranty (2026-06-02)
- SMA Sunny Boy residential inverters (US) warranty (checked 2026-10-11)
- Generac PWRcell 2 (battery cabinet, modules, inverter, smart disconnect) warranty (2025-06)
- Maxeon (SunPower panels) Maxeon-series modules (new, Maxeon-branded) warranty (2026-05-01)
- REC Alpha series modules warranty (2026-02)
- Qcells Q.PEAK / Q.TRON residential modules (US) warranty (2025-10-20)
- Panasonic EverVolt / HIT panels and EverVolt batteries warranty (2025-04-29)
- Silfab Residential modules (e.g., SIL-440-BHC) warranty (2026-02-03)
- Canadian Solar Residential rooftop modules (HiKu6/HiHero etc.) warranty (2026-01)
- LG NeON panels (manufacturing ended mid-2022) warranty (2022-02-22)
- JinkoSolar US DG residential modules (Tiger Neo etc.) warranty (Version 5.0)
- Trina Solar Vertex S+ residential modules (US) warranty (2021-01-21)
- LONGi Hi-MO distributed-generation modules warranty (2023-11-29)
- FranklinWH aPower 2 (15 kWh) warranty (2026-05)
- Tesla: Contact (checked 2026-10-10)
- Enphase Care (checked 2026-10-11)